Two Minutes

Today, I watched Amy Cuddy’s TED Talk, how your body language shapes who you are. Throughout the video, I tried to think about what she was saying, and if it was true for me. Cuddy said that great leaders and people of power have high testosterone and low levels of cortisol. People who have these levels can be assertive when necessary, and they are more laid back as a person. As soon as she said this, I knew that I was the complete opposite, because I stress myself out over the smallest things. I sit in class hunched over with my legs crossed and my hands in my lap. I do not usually participate in class discussions. There are too many people, and I will get embarrassed if I say the wrong thing. 

After watching this video, I will try these power poses. Two minutes of a power pose is worth feeling more confident in myself and my abilities. I will sit in class without crossing my legs and folding into myself. I will stand tall for two minutes before entering an evaluating environment. I will fake it until I become it. 

Amy Cuddy is an amazing speaker, and I definitely recommend that you watch this video! http://www.ted.com/talks/amy_cuddy_your_body_language_shapes_who_you_are.html 

Leave a Reply

